District About Us Contact Directions Services District Help Desk Resource Center
Technology Leadership Institute (TLI)
2016/17 TLI Calendar - Save the Dates
TECH Summit 2016
TLI Winter Event 2017
Pioneer Awards 2017
» 2015 Awards
» 2014 Awards
» 2013 Awards
» 2012 Awards
» 2011 Awards
» 2010 Awards
» 2009 Awards
» 2008 Awards
» 2007 Awards
» 2006 Awards
» 2005 Awards
» 2004 Awards
» 2003 Awards
» Past Winners
» Pioneer Award 2016
» Pioneer Award Nominations
Smart Schools Bond Act
COSN/NYSCATE Membership Offer
Leadership » Pioneer Awards 2017 » Past Winners

LHRIC Pioneer Awards - Past Winners


This year, the LHRIC presented dual Pioneer Awards to the Scarsdale Public Schools and the Mahopac Central School District. Scarsdale received the award for its work with digital media, redesigning curriculum using the technology to teach and learn in a more meaningful way. They were also recognized for their generosity in sharing their work with our region and throughout the country. Mahopac won the award for establishing the first home-school Internet link in this region, between parents and teachers. With the use of Parent Connect a web-based application, parents are able to access their children's up to date information from anywhere anytime, enabling them to be dynamically involved in their children's educational experience.


Byram Hills Central School District won for providing a professional development program that integrates web-enabled activities into the k-12 curricula. Essential to their technology initiative is the idea of the "learning community" in which people - educators, administrators and staff - are dedicated to learning together in an environment that encourages dialogue, feedback, reflection and empowerment. The web-enabled activities that are created promote standards, higher order thinking skills, cooperative learning, and foster real-world situations in the classroom.


Pleasantville School District won for providing an informational website helping teens make Clear Choices about drugs, alcohol, peer pressure, stress and violence. This project in conjunction with Jeanne Pirro's Westchester County Attorney's Office, continues to help teenagers all over the world with their insightful tips.


Pocantico Hills Cemtral School won for a thoughtful, imaginative and innovative Website full of learning for both the creators and the visitors. The Pocantico Hills Central School Website includes the award winning "Harriet Tubman & The Underground Railroad" site as well as the "Children's Encyclopedia of Women", the "Tibet-The Buddha's Art of Healing" site and the "Picture Book of Vietnam" -just to name a few. Each element of the Pocantico Hills Central School Website is a learning journey created by students.


White Plains City School District won for being the first metro school network in the three districts. Mahopac Central School Schools , for an innovative staff development program designed to help kids develop web pages. Ramapo Central Schools , for being a technology leader in passing a 10.6 million technology plan with 33% of that money used for staff development. Rye City Schools, for being a leader in technology planning.


East Ramapo Central Schools won for being a pioneering district in networking, technology planning and participating in the innovative Technology Activities Database.

For more information contact Jennifer Cronk at jcronk@lhric.org or 914.592.4203 (ext 3402) 

SW Boces
Lower Hudson Regional Information Center
450 Mamaroneck Ave., Harrison, NY 10528
914.592.4203 Fax: 914.592.7465/4727
© 2016 (LHRIC)